20140126-174254.jpg

Every morning, I sit at my dining room table with some soft worship music, coffee and my Bible, ready to hear what God has to say. A few weeks ago, I witnessed something pretty cool. I heard some chirping, looked up and a tiny bird was locked on to my screen, eating the bugs trapped in it. I watched for a minute, my ADD switched back off and I went back to reading. The next day, he was back. Day three, another round. Day four, again. Day five, I realized I have to do a better job of cleaning my screens… nevertheless, he was fed and off he went. He now comes to the fly-through window at the Henning Bistro every morning, same time, same window and orders the same thing. But last week, something changed.

A friend of mine, that I have titled my “spiritual mom”, sent me a message that she had been fasting and praying for my family and the Lord said “Tell him to have eyes to see me in everything.” Not by coincidence, Satan had been harassing us for a few days, so my sight was a bit dim. I prayed over this repeatedly and asked God to show up however He needed to during this rough patch. As if on cue, the fly-through bell goes off and up flies Matthew. Matthew? Yep, I named a wild bird… stick with me though.

One thing I love as a Christ-follower, is seeing God bring His Word alive in fun and unexpected ways. That morning as I watched Matthew feast away, the Spirit flooded my heart with this Scripture found in Matthew (hence the bird name).

Matthew 6:25-27 – New Living Translation (NLT)
25 “That is why I tell you not to worry about everyday life—whether you have enough food and drink, or enough clothes to wear. Isn’t life more than food, and your body more than clothing? 26 Look at the birds. They don’t plant or harvest or store food in barns, for your heavenly Father feeds them. And aren’t you far more valuable to him than they are? 27 Can all your worries add a single moment to your life?

And then this part!

32 These things dominate the thoughts of unbelievers, but your heavenly Father already knows all your needs. 33 Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need. 34 “So don’t worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will bring its own worries. Today’s trouble is enough for today.”

Yeah, I know! Cool right? This wasn’t a new revelation to me, but it was a great reminder from God Himself and how He has provided in the past. My wife and I have experienced those days of not knowing where the money would come from to buy diapers or groceries or how to get our phone service turned back on. We’ve had our restless nights of hoping to wake up and not have had our only car towed away. We’ve silently, in anguish, cried out to God not knowing what direction our life was supposed to go with our careers or what decisions to make in order to take some steps forward.

Yet looking back, even as dark as it seemed, we learned to look down the road to see the light of Jesus indicating hope, provision and a heart for His children as we seek the exit sign in Satan’s dark world. We had to begin to trust that God had some “bugs” in the screen that would feed our needs, even when we didn’t know where they would come from.

My friends, I write this today not as a misleading promise of unexpected checks in the mail, promotions or as a prosperity message. I write this in hopes that you will learn to “have eyes to see Him in everything”. I don’t know what you are struggling with right now, but know that you are not forgotten and to quote the band Fireflight, “He sees you, He’s near you, He knows your face, He knows your pain. He sees you and He loves you, He knows your name, He knows you name.”

Just as the Lord provided “manna” during the wilderness times of His earliest followers, He provides for us thousands of years later. Keep your hearts focused on His promises and keep His Spirit one step ahead of you. Oh, by the way, do you know how hard it is to be fast enough to take a picture of a bird on your screen???? I was ready and waiting for him this morning though! Keep your eyes on your windows from now on. Maybe Matthew will stop by for a snack and a little reminder!

