20140213-123824.jpg

The legendary Mick Jagger once said, “Time is on my side”. Some of you just sang it in your head, some of you just realized what time it was and that you are running late and have so much to do. Lots of people would disagree with Jag’s philosophy and see time as a stresser and a nemesis. Think about how many times you’ve heard someone say “If only there were more hours in a day.” or something similar. This article is to help you at least feel like there is and make the most of every minute.

I don’t claim to be “great” at many things, but for some reason, time management is a super-power of mine. Without trying, I just discovered that I have a unique ability to get tons of stuff done in small amounts of time. This isn’t one of those “I work better under pressure” things. It’s a “work better so I don’t HAVE pressure” thing. Let me share 3 of the things I use that keep me productive and allow me to keep pace with the clock.

1. Do it Now!
This one seems simple but, when you make it a habit, even in small things, it’s a beauty. You get an email that needs a response; do it now. Something laying on your table needs to be put away; do it now. You see the floor needs swept; do it now. You get the idea. So often, we fall victim to that word “procrastination” and it actually just works against the clock and your schedule. All we’re really doing is building a pile of stress we have to deal with eventually. Even if it’s the little things, just do it now!

2. What can I do while I’m waiting?
This concept is my golden nugget! I LOVE this one. My previous job required me to occasionally work in filing. We would scan barcodes, check some info and then slap a label on it to be filed away. The mandatory “rate” was 35 per hour. Well, my super-power kicked in and I discovered a few things I could do while waiting for the computer to do ITS thing. I had free time and a free hand so why waste either? This concept catapulted me into the most hated guy in filing because I began cranking out 75 an hour! Managers loved me and co-workers despised me as I became the new “trainer” and rates went up.

I use this concept every single day. As I wait for the rice to cook, I unload and load the dishwasher. As I sit in the car repair shop (literally writing this in the lounge of Kia!), I work on sermons or blogs. What can you do while waiting? Ask yourself that question every time you find yourself in a “hold”. You’ll be surprised how much you get done, or even how much you get ahead.

3. Eat the frog!
I learned this one from a Pastor named Nelson Searcy. I’m not sure it’s his original idea but, it’s phenomenal and has changed how I think. It’s similar to the first one I listed but different in it’s context. Imagine you have a desk full of things to do and one of them is to eat a live frog. Nothing in you wants to do it (I hope) but it HAS to be done. So you put it off; over and over and over, doing other stuff first. The problem is, it never goes away. He sits there and you see him out of the corner of your eye, knowing it’s inevitable. His croaking becomes distracting and it’s hard to focus on the task at hand.

We all have that “frog”. The phone call you dread making, the email you don’t wanna respond to, the mandatory thing you hate to do most. It sits there and nags at us and in turn, makes us LESS productive because it steals our thoughts and motivation. Eat the frog! Do it first, get it done and move on to the things you would rather be doing, with full focus.

Ephesians 5:15-17 says “Look carefully then how you walk, not as unwise but as wise, making the best use of the time, because the days are evil. Therefore do not be foolish, but understand what the will of the Lord is.”

Time is a gift from God. It’s a gift we are expected to be good stewards of. Trying to squeeze in family, work, ministry and anything in between is tough. I get that. But I truly believe that if you walk in wisdom, you’ll breath easier and actually, just maybe, have some time for yourself. Give it a shot!

Do it now!

